Campgrounds / Death Valley National Park
Furnace Creek Campground
Death Valley National Park, CA. Every number below is quoted from the official page named beside it, retrieved 2026-10-17. "Not stated" means the page does not say.
The calculator link pre-fills the driveway at the facility maximum. A facility maximum is the longest unit the campground accepts somewhere, not the length of every site; the site page on Recreation.gov carries the site's own figure where one exists.
Spec sheet
- Park
- Death Valley National Park, CA
- Sites
- not stated
- Elevation
- not stated
- Season
- Open year-round; reservations are taken for October 15 to April 15, and the campground stays open in summer with limited capacity. National Park Service, Death Valley: Camping in Death Valley
- Hookups
- The park's camping page states no hookups for this campground. National Park Service, Death Valley: Camping in Death Valley
- Dump station
- not stated
- Loops
- not stated
- Site types listed
- not stated
- Reservation window
- Reservations through Recreation.gov for the October 15 to April 15 season, up to six months ahead. National Park Service, Death Valley: Camping in Death Valley
- Access notes
- At 100 ft this is the longest published figure verified anywhere on this site, and the park itself says in the same breath that not all sites hold it — so it is a facility maximum in the strictest sense and not the length of any particular site. The park-wide generator rule is 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. unless otherwise posted. The park states the figure as a TOTAL length, which is why it is recorded as a combined figure rather than an RV figure. National Park Service, Death Valley: Camping in Death Valley
What the limit means for your rig
Furnace Creek Campground publishes a combined limit of 100 ft: the RV plus any towed or towing vehicle, measured end to end. That is the number the fit calculator computes as "combined length", so compare like with like — and it is a stricter test than an RV figure of the same number, a 100 ft motorhome towing a car is outside this limit, while the same motorhome is inside a 100 ft maximum RV length somewhere else. The exact wording is quoted under the diagram; read it, because a facility maximum is the longest unit the campground accepts somewhere and not the length of every site.
A 35-foot rig is the size at which figures like this start to bind, and a combined figure binds sooner than an RV figure does: Furnace Creek Campground's 100 ft combined limit leaves a 35-foot motorhome inside it, with 65 ft left for a tow bar and a towed car — which is less than most towed cars need. How a 35-foot rig reads against every limit verified on this site, RV figures and trailer figures separated.
Use the calculator with the driveway set to 100 ft to see your rig drawn to scale against this limit. A "fits" there means your rig is inside the facility maximum with the 5 ft safety margin, which is our editorial assumption and not a figure from any source — it is editable in the calculator, down to zero. A "fits" does not mean a particular site is available or that every site is that long.
Hookups at Furnace Creek Campground
Official wording: "The park's camping page states no hookups for this campground." There is no electricity, water or sewer at the site, so plan on battery, generator rules as stated above, and the dump station named in the spec sheet.
Other verified campgrounds
- Mahogany Flat CampgroundDeath Valley National Park25 ft combined
- Thorndike CampgroundDeath Valley National Park25 ft combined
- Wildrose CampgroundDeath Valley National Park25 ft combined
- Texas Springs CampgroundDeath Valley National Park35 ft combined
- Mesquite Spring CampgroundDeath Valley National Park35 ft combined
Provenance
| Field | Source | Retrieved |
|---|---|---|
| Length limits | National Park Service, Death Valley: Camping in Death Valley (page last updated 2025-09-18) | 2026-10-17 |
| Hookups | National Park Service, Death Valley: Camping in Death Valley | 2026-10-17 |
| Season, reservations | National Park Service, Death Valley: Camping in Death Valley | 2026-10-17 |
| Raw record | /data/facilities.json (slug furnace-creek-death-valley) | 2026-10-16 |
No campsite-level records (driveway length per site, per-site hookups, accessibility attributes) are published here yet: they come from the RIDB API, which needs a key this site does not have configured. See methodology.