Campgrounds / Joshua Tree National Park
White Tank Campground
Joshua Tree National Park, CA. Every number below is quoted from the official page named beside it, retrieved 2026-10-17. "Not stated" means the page does not say.
The calculator link pre-fills the driveway at the facility maximum. A facility maximum is the longest unit the campground accepts somewhere, not the length of every site; the site page on Recreation.gov carries the site's own figure where one exists.
Spec sheet
- Park
- Joshua Tree National Park, CA
- Sites
- 15 National Park Service, Joshua Tree: Campgrounds
- Elevation
- 3800 ft
- Season
- First-come, first-served; the park states it is temporarily closed in summer. National Park Service, Joshua Tree: Campgrounds
- Hookups
- The park's campgrounds page lists no hookups and no water at this campground. National Park Service, Joshua Tree: Campgrounds
- Dump station
- not stated
- Loops
- not stated
- Site types listed
- not stated
- Reservation window
- not stated National Park Service, Joshua Tree: Campgrounds
- Access notes
- Park-wide generator rule as stated by the park: generators may run only from 7–9 a.m., noon–2 p.m. and 5–7 p.m. The park also states an annual campfire ban from June 15 to October 1 at all campgrounds. Where the wording above says "some sites", the figure is a facility maximum and not the length of every site. National Park Service, Joshua Tree: Campgrounds
What the limit means for your rig
White Tank Campground publishes a combined limit of 25 ft: the RV plus any towed or towing vehicle, measured end to end. That is the number the fit calculator computes as "combined length", so compare like with like — and it is a stricter test than an RV figure of the same number, a 25 ft motorhome towing a car is outside this limit, while the same motorhome is inside a 25 ft maximum RV length somewhere else. The exact wording is quoted under the diagram; read it, because a facility maximum is the longest unit the campground accepts somewhere and not the length of every site.
A 35-foot rig is the size at which figures like this start to bind, and a combined figure binds sooner than an RV figure does: White Tank Campground's 25 ft combined limit rules out a 35-foot motorhome on its own, before you add a towed car. How a 35-foot rig reads against every limit verified on this site, RV figures and trailer figures separated.
Use the calculator with the driveway set to 25 ft to see your rig drawn to scale against this limit. A "fits" there means your rig is inside the facility maximum with the 5 ft safety margin, which is our editorial assumption and not a figure from any source — it is editable in the calculator, down to zero. A "fits" does not mean a particular site is available or that every site is that long.
Hookups at White Tank Campground
Official wording: "The park's campgrounds page lists no hookups and no water at this campground." There is no electricity, water or sewer at the site, so plan on battery, generator rules as stated above, and the dump station named in the spec sheet.
Other verified campgrounds
- Belle CampgroundJoshua Tree National Park35 ft RV
- Hidden Valley CampgroundJoshua Tree National Park25 ft combined
- Black Rock CampgroundJoshua Tree National Park35 ft RV
- Cottonwood CampgroundJoshua Tree National Park35 ft combined
- Indian Cove CampgroundJoshua Tree National Park35 ft combined
Provenance
| Field | Source | Retrieved |
|---|---|---|
| Length limits | National Park Service, Joshua Tree: Campgrounds (page last updated 2026-08-16) | 2026-10-17 |
| Hookups | National Park Service, Joshua Tree: Campgrounds | 2026-10-17 |
| Season, reservations | National Park Service, Joshua Tree: Campgrounds | 2026-10-17 |
| Raw record | /data/facilities.json (slug white-tank-joshua-tree) | 2026-10-16 |
No campsite-level records (driveway length per site, per-site hookups, accessibility attributes) are published here yet: they come from the RIDB API, which needs a key this site does not have configured. See methodology.