Campgrounds / Joshua Tree National Park

Black Rock Campground

Joshua Tree National Park, CA. Every number below is quoted from the official page named beside it, retrieved 2026-10-17. "Not stated" means the page does not say.

Max RV length
35 ft
Max trailer length
not stated
Max combined length
not stated
Electric at sites
none
Black Rock Campground: verified length limits drawn to scale on a tape in feetmax RV 35 ft010203040ft
Official wording: "Black Rock Campground has a maximum RV length of 35 feet."Source: National Park Service, Joshua Tree: Black Rock Campground
Draw my rig against 35 ft Official park page

The calculator link pre-fills the driveway at the facility maximum. A facility maximum is the longest unit the campground accepts somewhere, not the length of every site; the site page on Recreation.gov carries the site's own figure where one exists.

Spec sheet

Park
Joshua Tree National Park, CA
Sites
99 National Park Service, Joshua Tree: Campgrounds
Elevation
4000 ft
Season
A reservation campground, typically open year-round; the park states partial or full summer closures are possible. National Park Service, Joshua Tree: Campgrounds
Hookups
The park's campgrounds page lists water at this campground and no electric hookups. National Park Service, Joshua Tree: Campgrounds
Dump station
A dump station is available, $5, near campsite 6. National Park Service, Joshua Tree: Campgrounds
Loops
not stated
Site types listed
not stated
Reservation window
not stated National Park Service, Joshua Tree: Campgrounds
Access notes
Park-wide generator rule as stated by the park: generators may run only from 7–9 a.m., noon–2 p.m. and 5–7 p.m. The park also states an annual campfire ban from June 15 to October 1 at all campgrounds. Where the wording above says "some sites", the figure is a facility maximum and not the length of every site. National Park Service, Joshua Tree: Campgrounds

What the limit means for your rig

Black Rock Campground publishes one figure, 35 ft, and the source wording is quoted under the diagram. Read it against the unit named in the wording, not against your combined length unless the wording says combined. Why a facility maximum and a site driveway are different numbers.

A 35-foot rig is the size at which figures like this start to bind: Black Rock Campground's 35 ft RV figure puts a 35-foot motorhome exactly at it, not under it. How a 35-foot rig reads against every limit verified on this site, and which of the two columns applies to you.

Use the calculator with the driveway set to 35 ft to see your rig drawn to scale against this limit. A "fits" there means your rig is inside the facility maximum with the 5 ft safety margin, which is our editorial assumption and not a figure from any source — it is editable in the calculator, down to zero. A "fits" does not mean a particular site is available or that every site is that long.

Hookups at Black Rock Campground

Official wording: "The park's campgrounds page lists water at this campground and no electric hookups." There is no electricity, water or sewer at the site, so plan on battery, generator rules as stated above, and the dump station named in the spec sheet.

Other verified campgrounds

Provenance

FieldSourceRetrieved
Length limitsNational Park Service, Joshua Tree: Black Rock Campground (page last updated 2024-05-28)2026-10-17
HookupsNational Park Service, Joshua Tree: Campgrounds2026-10-17
Season, reservationsNational Park Service, Joshua Tree: Campgrounds2026-10-17
Raw record/data/facilities.json (slug black-rock-joshua-tree)2026-10-16

No campsite-level records (driveway length per site, per-site hookups, accessibility attributes) are published here yet: they come from the RIDB API, which needs a key this site does not have configured. See methodology.