Campgrounds / Mount Rainier National Park

Cougar Rock Campground

Mount Rainier National Park, WA. Every number below is quoted from the official page named beside it, retrieved 2026-10-17. "Not stated" means the page does not say.

Max RV length
35 ft
Max trailer length
27 ft
Max combined length
not stated
Electric at sites
none
Cougar Rock Campground: verified length limits drawn to scale on a tape in feetmax RV 35 ftmax trailer 27 ft010203040ft
Official wording: "RV: 35 ft. Trailer: 27 ft. (from the park's column "Max RV Length/Max Trailer Length")"Source: National Park Service, Mount Rainier: Campgrounds
Draw my rig against 35 ft Official park page

The calculator link pre-fills the driveway at the facility maximum. A facility maximum is the longest unit the campground accepts somewhere, not the length of every site; the site page on Recreation.gov carries the site's own figure where one exists.

Spec sheet

Park
Mount Rainier National Park, WA
Sites
not stated
Elevation
3180 ft
Season
Late May to late Sept., as listed in the park's campground table. The park lists the campground as closed for the season. National Park Service, Mount Rainier: Campgrounds
Hookups
The park's campground table lists no electrical, water or grey water hookups at this campground. National Park Service, Mount Rainier: Campgrounds
Dump station
not stated
Loops
178 individual sites and 5 group sites
Site types listed
not stated
Reservation window
not stated National Park Service, Mount Rainier: Campgrounds
Access notes
Loop E is closed to generators at all times. The park's table lists no dump station at this campground and the park's sanitation section states the RV dump station is closed until further notice; the two statements differ and both are recorded here rather than resolved. The RV water fill station is listed as closed. National Park Service, Mount Rainier: Campgrounds

What the limit means for your rig

Cougar Rock Campground publishes two numbers, and they are not interchangeable: 35 ft for an RV (a motorhome, measured alone) and 27 ft for a trailer (the towed unit, measured alone). The trailer figure is lower on purpose: Recreation.gov's own site pages say the maximum trailer length is always shorter than the maximum RV length because of maneuverability. Neither number is a combined length. How to read a trailer limit against your combined length.

A 35-foot rig is the size at which figures like this start to bind: Cougar Rock Campground's 35 ft RV figure puts a 35-foot motorhome exactly at it, not under it, while the 27 ft trailer figure rules out a 35-foot trailer here. How a 35-foot rig reads against every limit verified on this site, and which of the two columns applies to you.

Use the calculator with the driveway set to 35 ft to see your rig drawn to scale against this limit. A "fits" there means your rig is inside the facility maximum with the 5 ft safety margin, which is our editorial assumption and not a figure from any source — it is editable in the calculator, down to zero. A "fits" does not mean a particular site is available or that every site is that long.

Hookups at Cougar Rock Campground

Official wording: "The park's campground table lists no electrical, water or grey water hookups at this campground." There is no electricity, water or sewer at the site, so plan on battery, generator rules as stated above, and the dump station named in the spec sheet.

Other verified campgrounds

Provenance

FieldSourceRetrieved
Length limitsNational Park Service, Mount Rainier: Campgrounds (page last updated 2026-10-13)2026-10-17
HookupsNational Park Service, Mount Rainier: Campgrounds2026-10-17
Season, reservationsNational Park Service, Mount Rainier: Campgrounds2026-10-17
Raw record/data/facilities.json (slug cougar-rock-mount-rainier)2026-10-16

No campsite-level records (driveway length per site, per-site hookups, accessibility attributes) are published here yet: they come from the RIDB API, which needs a key this site does not have configured. See methodology.