Campgrounds / Yellowstone National Park

Madison Campground

Yellowstone National Park, WY. Every number below is quoted from the official page named beside it, retrieved 2026-10-17. "Not stated" means the page does not say.

Max RV length
not stated
Max trailer length
not stated
Max combined length
60 ft
Electric at sites
none
Madison Campground: verified length limits drawn to scale on a tape in feetmax combined 60 ft010203040506070ft
Official wording: "60 (RV + Vehicle max length (ft.), as printed in the park's camping table)"Source: National Park Service, Yellowstone: Camping
Draw my rig against 60 ft Official park page

The calculator link pre-fills the driveway at the facility maximum. A facility maximum is the longest unit the campground accepts somewhere, not the length of every site; the site page on Recreation.gov carries the site's own figure where one exists.

Spec sheet

Park
Yellowstone National Park, WY
Sites
276 National Park Service, Yellowstone: Camping
Elevation
not stated
Season
2026: May 1 – October 17, as listed in the park's camping table. National Park Service, Yellowstone: Camping
Hookups
The park's camping table marks RV hookups as not available at this campground. National Park Service, Yellowstone: Camping
Dump station
The park's camping table marks a dump station at this campground. National Park Service, Yellowstone: Camping
Loops
not stated
Site types listed
not stated
Reservation window
not stated National Park Service, Yellowstone: Camping
Access notes
The park's camping table marks generators as allowed at this campground. It gives no generator hours. National Park Service, Yellowstone: Camping

What the limit means for your rig

Madison Campground publishes a combined limit of 60 ft: the RV plus any towed or towing vehicle, measured end to end. That is the number the fit calculator computes as "combined length", so compare like with like — and it is a stricter test than an RV figure of the same number, a 60 ft motorhome towing a car is outside this limit, while the same motorhome is inside a 60 ft maximum RV length somewhere else. The exact wording is quoted under the diagram; read it, because a facility maximum is the longest unit the campground accepts somewhere and not the length of every site.

A 35-foot rig is the size at which figures like this start to bind, and a combined figure binds sooner than an RV figure does: Madison Campground's 60 ft combined limit leaves a 35-foot motorhome inside it, with 25 ft left for a tow bar and a towed car — which is less than most towed cars need. How a 35-foot rig reads against every limit verified on this site, RV figures and trailer figures separated.

Use the calculator with the driveway set to 60 ft to see your rig drawn to scale against this limit. A "fits" there means your rig is inside the facility maximum with the 5 ft safety margin, which is our editorial assumption and not a figure from any source — it is editable in the calculator, down to zero. A "fits" does not mean a particular site is available or that every site is that long.

Hookups at Madison Campground

Official wording: "The park's camping table marks RV hookups as not available at this campground." There is no electricity, water or sewer at the site, so plan on battery, generator rules as stated above, and the dump station named in the spec sheet.

Other verified campgrounds

Provenance

FieldSourceRetrieved
Length limitsNational Park Service, Yellowstone: Camping (page last updated 2026-02-25)2026-10-17
HookupsNational Park Service, Yellowstone: Camping2026-10-17
Season, reservationsNational Park Service, Yellowstone: Camping2026-10-17
Raw record/data/facilities.json (slug madison-yellowstone)2026-10-16

No campsite-level records (driveway length per site, per-site hookups, accessibility attributes) are published here yet: they come from the RIDB API, which needs a key this site does not have configured. See methodology.