Campgrounds / Colorado National Monument

Saddlehorn Campground

Colorado National Monument, CO. Every number below is quoted from the official page named beside it, retrieved 2026-10-17. "Not stated" means the page does not say.

Max RV length
40 ft
Max trailer length
not stated
Max combined length
40 ft
Electric at sites
none
Saddlehorn Campground: verified length limits drawn to scale on a tape in feetmax RV 40 ftmax combined 40 ft010203040ft
Official wording: "The length limit in Loops A and B for all RVs is 40 feet. … The length limit for trailers is 40 feet total for the vehicle and trailer combined. … Loop C is 19 feet max and no trailers."Source: National Park Service, Colorado National Monument: Camping
Draw my rig against 40 ft Official park page

The calculator link pre-fills the driveway at the facility maximum. A facility maximum is the longest unit the campground accepts somewhere, not the length of every site; the site page on Recreation.gov carries the site's own figure where one exists.

Spec sheet

Park
Colorado National Monument, CO
Sites
not stated
Elevation
not stated
Season
Loop A: April 1 through October 15. Loop B: open year-round. Loop C: 4/21/26 to the beginning of October. National Park Service, Colorado National Monument: Camping
Hookups
No hookups are stated on the page. National Park Service, Colorado National Monument: Camping
Dump station
There is no dump station in the monument; the Fruita Welcome Center off I-70 at exit 19 has a free dump station and water refill station year-round. National Park Service, Colorado National Monument: Camping
Loops
A (40 ft RV limit, open April 1 – October 15); B (40 ft RV limit, open year-round); C (sites 52–80, 19 ft maximum, no trailers, no generators)
Site types listed
not stated
Reservation window
not stated National Park Service, Colorado National Monument: Camping
Access notes
This record carries both an RV figure and a combined figure because the monument publishes both: 40 feet for an RV in Loops A and B, and 40 feet total for a vehicle and trailer combined. Loop C's separate 19 ft maximum with no trailers is quoted above and is not the facility figure. Generator use and idling engines are permitted 8 a.m. to 8 p.m. in Loops A and B, and never in Loop C. National Park Service, Colorado National Monument: Camping

What the limit means for your rig

Saddlehorn Campground publishes a combined limit of 40 ft: the RV plus any towed or towing vehicle, measured end to end. That is the number the fit calculator computes as "combined length", so compare like with like — and it is a stricter test than an RV figure of the same number, a 40 ft motorhome towing a car is outside this limit, while the same motorhome is inside a 40 ft maximum RV length somewhere else. The exact wording is quoted under the diagram; read it, because a facility maximum is the longest unit the campground accepts somewhere and not the length of every site. This page also carries a separate maximum RV length of 40 ft, because the source publishes both; the two govern different measurements and the calculator checks each against the measurement it governs.

A 35-foot rig is the size at which figures like this start to bind: Saddlehorn Campground's 40 ft RV figure leaves a 35-foot motorhome inside it. How a 35-foot rig reads against every limit verified on this site, and which of the two columns applies to you.

Use the calculator with the driveway set to 40 ft to see your rig drawn to scale against this limit. A "fits" there means your rig is inside the facility maximum with the 5 ft safety margin, which is our editorial assumption and not a figure from any source — it is editable in the calculator, down to zero. A "fits" does not mean a particular site is available or that every site is that long.

Hookups at Saddlehorn Campground

Official wording: "No hookups are stated on the page." There is no electricity, water or sewer at the site, so plan on battery, generator rules as stated above, and the dump station named in the spec sheet.

Other verified campgrounds

Provenance

FieldSourceRetrieved
Length limitsNational Park Service, Colorado National Monument: Camping (page last updated 2026-04-14)2026-10-17
HookupsNational Park Service, Colorado National Monument: Camping2026-10-17
Season, reservationsNational Park Service, Colorado National Monument: Camping2026-10-17
Raw record/data/facilities.json (slug saddlehorn-colorado-nm)2026-10-16

No campsite-level records (driveway length per site, per-site hookups, accessibility attributes) are published here yet: they come from the RIDB API, which needs a key this site does not have configured. See methodology.