Campgrounds / Grand Canyon National Park (South Rim)

Mather Campground

Grand Canyon National Park (South Rim), AZ. Every number below is quoted from the official page named beside it, retrieved 2026-10-16. "Not stated" means the page does not say.

Max RV length
30 ft
Max trailer length
30 ft
Max combined length
not stated
Electric at sites
none
Mather Campground: verified length limits drawn to scale on a tape in feetmax RV 30 ft0102030ft
Official wording: "30 feet (9 m) for motorhomes or trailers. Sites 120, 121, 128, 172, and 185 are listed as fitting a 30-foot trailer; the page says other sites will not fit one."Source: Recreation.gov: Mather Campground
Draw my rig against 30 ft Official reservation page

The calculator link pre-fills the driveway at the facility maximum. A facility maximum is the longest unit the campground accepts somewhere, not the length of every site; the site page on Recreation.gov carries the site's own figure where one exists.

Spec sheet

Park
Grand Canyon National Park (South Rim), AZ
Sites
327 Recreation.gov: Mather Campground
Elevation
7000 ft
Season
Peak season March 1 to November 30; winter reservations December 1 to February 28. Roads may not be plowed after storms; campsites are never plowed. Recreation.gov: Mather Campground
Hookups
Mather Campground does NOT have hookups. No electric, sewer, or water hookups. Recreation.gov: Mather Campground
Dump station
A free dump station and water fill station are nearby at Camper Services. Recreation.gov: Mather Campground
Loops
Aspen (1–59); Fir (60–106); Juniper (107–184); Maple (185–200); Oak (201–264); Pine (265–319, no generators in peak season); Sage (group and equine)
Site types listed
Tent Only, Standard, RV, Group, Equestrian, Hiker/Biker
Reservation window
Up to 6 months in advance on Recreation.gov. About 20 first-come, first-served sites are sold day-of in peak season, usually gone by 11:00 a.m. Recreation.gov: Mather Campground
Access notes
Generators: not permitted in Pine Loop during peak season; elsewhere 7:00–9:00 a.m. and 6:00–8:00 p.m. only. Standard sites allow up to two standard vehicles. Recreation.gov: Mather Campground
Recreation.gov facility ID
232490

What the limit means for your rig

Mather Campground publishes one figure, 30 ft, and the source wording is quoted under the diagram. Read it against the unit named in the wording, not against your combined length unless the wording says combined. Why a facility maximum and a site driveway are different numbers.

Use the calculator with the driveway set to 30 ft to see your rig drawn to scale against this limit. A "fits" there means your rig is inside the facility maximum with the margin; it does not mean a particular site is available or that every site is that long.

Hookups at Mather Campground

Official wording: "Mather Campground does NOT have hookups. No electric, sewer, or water hookups." There is no electricity, water or sewer at the site, so plan on battery, generator rules as stated above, and the dump station named in the spec sheet.

Other verified campgrounds

Provenance

FieldSourceRetrieved
Length limitsRecreation.gov: Mather Campground2026-10-16
HookupsRecreation.gov: Mather Campground2026-10-16
Season, reservationsRecreation.gov: Mather Campground2026-10-16
Raw record/data/facilities.json (slug mather-grand-canyon)2026-10-16

No campsite-level records (driveway length per site, per-site hookups, accessibility attributes) are published here yet: they come from the RIDB API, which needs a key this site does not have configured. See methodology.