Campgrounds / Grand Canyon National Park (South Rim)

Desert View Campground

Grand Canyon National Park (South Rim), AZ. Every number below is quoted from the official page named beside it, retrieved 2026-10-17. "Not stated" means the page does not say.

Max RV length
30 ft
Max trailer length
30 ft
Max combined length
not stated
Electric at sites
none
Desert View Campground: verified length limits drawn to scale on a tape in feetmax RV 30 ft0102030ft
Official wording: "Most sites are sized to accommodate tents or smaller RV's or Travel Trailers (30 ft. maximum length)."Source: National Park Service, Grand Canyon: Desert View Campground
Draw my rig against 30 ft Official park page

The calculator link pre-fills the driveway at the facility maximum. A facility maximum is the longest unit the campground accepts somewhere, not the length of every site; the site page on Recreation.gov carries the site's own figure where one exists.

Spec sheet

Park
Grand Canyon National Park (South Rim), AZ
Sites
50 National Park Service, Grand Canyon: Desert View Campground
Elevation
not stated
Season
Mid-April through mid-October, as stated on the page. National Park Service, Grand Canyon: Desert View Campground
Hookups
The page states no hookups for this campground. National Park Service, Grand Canyon: Desert View Campground
Dump station
not stated
Loops
not stated
Site types listed
not stated
Reservation window
not stated National Park Service, Grand Canyon: Desert View Campground
Access notes
The park's wording attaches the 30 ft maximum to "most sites", which makes it a facility maximum rather than the length of every site. The campground is about 26 miles east of Grand Canyon Village. National Park Service, Grand Canyon: Desert View Campground

What the limit means for your rig

Desert View Campground publishes one figure, 30 ft, and the source wording is quoted under the diagram. Read it against the unit named in the wording, not against your combined length unless the wording says combined. Why a facility maximum and a site driveway are different numbers.

A 35-foot rig is the size at which figures like this start to bind: Desert View Campground's 30 ft RV figure rules a 35-foot motorhome out before any site-level question arises, while the 30 ft trailer figure rules out a 35-foot trailer here. How a 35-foot rig reads against every limit verified on this site, and which of the two columns applies to you.

Use the calculator with the driveway set to 30 ft to see your rig drawn to scale against this limit. A "fits" there means your rig is inside the facility maximum with the 5 ft safety margin, which is our editorial assumption and not a figure from any source — it is editable in the calculator, down to zero. A "fits" does not mean a particular site is available or that every site is that long.

Hookups at Desert View Campground

Official wording: "The page states no hookups for this campground." There is no electricity, water or sewer at the site, so plan on battery, generator rules as stated above, and the dump station named in the spec sheet.

Other verified campgrounds

Provenance

FieldSourceRetrieved
Length limitsNational Park Service, Grand Canyon: Desert View Campground (page last updated 2026-04-12)2026-10-17
HookupsNational Park Service, Grand Canyon: Desert View Campground2026-10-17
Season, reservationsNational Park Service, Grand Canyon: Desert View Campground2026-10-17
Raw record/data/facilities.json (slug desert-view-grand-canyon)2026-10-16

No campsite-level records (driveway length per site, per-site hookups, accessibility attributes) are published here yet: they come from the RIDB API, which needs a key this site does not have configured. See methodology.