Campgrounds / Guadalupe Mountains National Park
Dog Canyon Campground
Guadalupe Mountains National Park, TX. Every number below is quoted from the official page named beside it, retrieved 2026-10-17. "Not stated" means the page does not say.
The calculator link pre-fills the driveway at the facility maximum. A facility maximum is the longest unit the campground accepts somewhere, not the length of every site; the site page on Recreation.gov carries the site's own figure where one exists.
Spec sheet
- Park
- Guadalupe Mountains National Park, TX
- Sites
- not stated
- Elevation
- not stated
- Season
- Open year round, as stated by the park. National Park Service, Guadalupe Mountains: Camping
- Hookups
- The park states there are no hookups. National Park Service, Guadalupe Mountains: Camping
- Dump station
- not stated
- Loops
- not stated
- Site types listed
- 9 tent sites, 4 RV sites
- Reservation window
- not stated National Park Service, Guadalupe Mountains: Camping
- Access notes
- The park states "maximum length 23 feet" without saying whether it governs an RV, a trailer or a vehicle and trailer together, so it is recorded in the maximum RV length field and the wording is quoted here unchanged. The park states there is no dump station at this campground and the nearest free RV dump station is in Carlsbad, New Mexico. Generators may not run during quiet hours of 8:00 p.m. to 8:00 a.m. National Park Service, Guadalupe Mountains: Camping
What the limit means for your rig
Dog Canyon Campground publishes one figure, 23 ft, and the source wording is quoted under the diagram. Read it against the unit named in the wording, not against your combined length unless the wording says combined. Why a facility maximum and a site driveway are different numbers.
A 35-foot rig is the size at which figures like this start to bind: Dog Canyon Campground's 23 ft RV figure rules a 35-foot motorhome out before any site-level question arises. How a 35-foot rig reads against every limit verified on this site, and which of the two columns applies to you.
Use the calculator with the driveway set to 23 ft to see your rig drawn to scale against this limit. A "fits" there means your rig is inside the facility maximum with the 5 ft safety margin, which is our editorial assumption and not a figure from any source — it is editable in the calculator, down to zero. A "fits" does not mean a particular site is available or that every site is that long.
Hookups at Dog Canyon Campground
Official wording: "The park states there are no hookups." There is no electricity, water or sewer at the site, so plan on battery, generator rules as stated above, and the dump station named in the spec sheet.
Other verified campgrounds
- Upper Pines CampgroundYosemite National Park35 ft RV
- North Pines CampgroundYosemite National Park40 ft RV
- Lower Pines CampgroundYosemite National Park40 ft RV
- Mather CampgroundGrand Canyon National Park (South Rim)30 ft RV
- Trailer Village RV CampgroundGrand Canyon National Park (South Rim)50 ft RV
Provenance
| Field | Source | Retrieved |
|---|---|---|
| Length limits | National Park Service, Guadalupe Mountains: Camping (page last updated 2022-03-27) | 2026-10-17 |
| Hookups | National Park Service, Guadalupe Mountains: Camping | 2026-10-17 |
| Season, reservations | National Park Service, Guadalupe Mountains: Camping | 2026-10-17 |
| Raw record | /data/facilities.json (slug dog-canyon-guadalupe-mountains) | 2026-10-16 |
No campsite-level records (driveway length per site, per-site hookups, accessibility attributes) are published here yet: they come from the RIDB API, which needs a key this site does not have configured. See methodology.