Campgrounds / Chaco Culture National Historical Park

Gallo Campground

Chaco Culture National Historical Park, NM. Every number below is quoted from the official page named beside it, retrieved 2026-10-17. "Not stated" means the page does not say.

Max RV length
35 ft
Max trailer length
35 ft
Max combined length
not stated
Electric at sites
none
Gallo Campground: verified length limits drawn to scale on a tape in feetmax RV 35 ft010203040ft
Official wording: "Trailers and RVs over 35 feet in length cannot be accommodated."Source: National Park Service, Chaco Culture: Camping
Draw my rig against 35 ft Official park page

The calculator link pre-fills the driveway at the facility maximum. A facility maximum is the longest unit the campground accepts somewhere, not the length of every site; the site page on Recreation.gov carries the site's own figure where one exists.

Spec sheet

Park
Chaco Culture National Historical Park, NM
Sites
not stated
Elevation
not stated
Season
Open all year, closed six nights: the night before Thanksgiving, Thanksgiving, December 24, December 25, December 31 and January 1. National Park Service, Chaco Culture: Camping
Hookups
The park states: "There are no hook-ups." National Park Service, Chaco Culture: Camping
Dump station
A dump station is located in the campground. National Park Service, Chaco Culture: Camping
Loops
not stated
Site types listed
26 individual sites, 2 group sites
Reservation window
not stated National Park Service, Chaco Culture: Camping
Access notes
The park states that five sites — 20, 21, 23, 24 and 25 — remain permanently closed after a 2023 rockfall. Generators may be operated 8:00–10:00 a.m., 12:00 noon–2:00 p.m. and 5:00–7:00 p.m. daily. The 35 ft figure is stated once for trailers and RVs together, so it is recorded in both fields. National Park Service, Chaco Culture: Camping

What the limit means for your rig

Gallo Campground publishes one figure, 35 ft, and the source wording is quoted under the diagram. Read it against the unit named in the wording, not against your combined length unless the wording says combined. Why a facility maximum and a site driveway are different numbers.

A 35-foot rig is the size at which figures like this start to bind: Gallo Campground's 35 ft RV figure puts a 35-foot motorhome exactly at it, not under it, while the 35 ft trailer figure puts a 35-foot trailer at the limit exactly. How a 35-foot rig reads against every limit verified on this site, and which of the two columns applies to you.

Use the calculator with the driveway set to 35 ft to see your rig drawn to scale against this limit. A "fits" there means your rig is inside the facility maximum with the 5 ft safety margin, which is our editorial assumption and not a figure from any source — it is editable in the calculator, down to zero. A "fits" does not mean a particular site is available or that every site is that long.

Hookups at Gallo Campground

Official wording: "The park states: "There are no hook-ups."" There is no electricity, water or sewer at the site, so plan on battery, generator rules as stated above, and the dump station named in the spec sheet.

Other verified campgrounds

Provenance

FieldSourceRetrieved
Length limitsNational Park Service, Chaco Culture: Camping (page last updated 2025-06-02)2026-10-17
HookupsNational Park Service, Chaco Culture: Camping2026-10-17
Season, reservationsNational Park Service, Chaco Culture: Camping2026-10-17
Raw record/data/facilities.json (slug gallo-chaco-culture)2026-10-16

No campsite-level records (driveway length per site, per-site hookups, accessibility attributes) are published here yet: they come from the RIDB API, which needs a key this site does not have configured. See methodology.