Campgrounds / Rocky Mountain National Park

Moraine Park Campground

Rocky Mountain National Park, CO. Every number below is quoted from the official page named beside it, retrieved 2026-10-17. "Not stated" means the page does not say.

Max RV length
not stated
Max trailer length
not stated
Max combined length
40 ft
Electric at sites
20 / 30 / 50 amp
Moraine Park Campground: verified length limits drawn to scale on a tape in feetmax combined 40 ft010203040ft
Official wording: "Maximum Vehicle + Trailer Length = Vehicle + Trailer + Hitch = 40 ft at Moraine Park Campground. … Vehicles larger than 40-feet are not permitted in Moraine Park Campground. … can accommodate up to a 40-foot-long RV or a Trailer and Tow Vehicle"Source: Recreation.gov: Moraine Park Campground, Rocky Mountain National Park
Draw my rig against 40 ft Official reservation page

The calculator link pre-fills the driveway at the facility maximum. A facility maximum is the longest unit the campground accepts somewhere, not the length of every site; the site page on Recreation.gov carries the site's own figure where one exists.

Spec sheet

Park
Rocky Mountain National Park, CO
Sites
not stated
Elevation
not stated
Season
The page describes a summer camping season and a winter camping season with Loop A sites 1–62 and all of Loops B, C and E open in winter; it states no opening or closing dates. Recreation.gov: Moraine Park Campground, Rocky Mountain National Park
Hookups
49 campsites have electric hookups that can support 20, 30 or 50 amps. The campground has no water or sewer hookups. Recreation.gov: Moraine Park Campground, Rocky Mountain National Park
Dump station
A dump station is located near the ranger station. Recreation.gov: Moraine Park Campground, Rocky Mountain National Park
Loops
A; B; C; D (generator use prohibited in all Loop D campsites); E
Site types listed
not stated
Reservation window
A 7-night limit applies in peak season; the page states reservations are made on Recreation.gov. Recreation.gov: Moraine Park Campground, Rocky Mountain National Park
Access notes
Generators are allowed in Loops A, B, C and E from 7:30–10 a.m. and 4–8:30 p.m. The page states: "Generator use is prohibited in all Loop D campsites." This is the clearest combined-length wording verified anywhere on this site: the park spells the arithmetic out as vehicle plus trailer plus hitch. Recreation.gov: Moraine Park Campground, Rocky Mountain National Park
Recreation.gov facility ID
232463

What the limit means for your rig

Moraine Park Campground publishes a combined limit of 40 ft: the RV plus any towed or towing vehicle, measured end to end. That is the number the fit calculator computes as "combined length", so compare like with like — and it is a stricter test than an RV figure of the same number, a 40 ft motorhome towing a car is outside this limit, while the same motorhome is inside a 40 ft maximum RV length somewhere else. The exact wording is quoted under the diagram; read it, because a facility maximum is the longest unit the campground accepts somewhere and not the length of every site.

A 35-foot rig is the size at which figures like this start to bind, and a combined figure binds sooner than an RV figure does: Moraine Park Campground's 40 ft combined limit leaves a 35-foot motorhome inside it, with 5 ft left for a tow bar and a towed car — which is less than most towed cars need. How a 35-foot rig reads against every limit verified on this site, RV figures and trailer figures separated.

Use the calculator with the driveway set to 40 ft to see your rig drawn to scale against this limit. A "fits" there means your rig is inside the facility maximum with the 5 ft safety margin, which is our editorial assumption and not a figure from any source — it is editable in the calculator, down to zero. A "fits" does not mean a particular site is available or that every site is that long.

Hookups at Moraine Park Campground

Official wording: "49 campsites have electric hookups that can support 20, 30 or 50 amps. The campground has no water or sewer hookups." Electric service is listed at 20 and 30 and 50 amp. A 30-amp pedestal supplies about 3,600 watts and a 50-amp pedestal about 12,000 watts; the hookups guide explains why that gap is more than a factor of three, not the two thirds the amp numbers suggest.

Other verified campgrounds

Provenance

FieldSourceRetrieved
Length limitsRecreation.gov: Moraine Park Campground, Rocky Mountain National Park2026-10-17
HookupsRecreation.gov: Moraine Park Campground, Rocky Mountain National Park2026-10-17
Season, reservationsRecreation.gov: Moraine Park Campground, Rocky Mountain National Park2026-10-17
Raw record/data/facilities.json (slug moraine-park-rocky-mountain)2026-10-16

No campsite-level records (driveway length per site, per-site hookups, accessibility attributes) are published here yet: they come from the RIDB API, which needs a key this site does not have configured. See methodology.