Campgrounds / Great Sand Dunes National Park and Preserve
Piñon Flats Campground
Great Sand Dunes National Park and Preserve, CO. Every number below is quoted from the official page named beside it, retrieved 2026-10-17. "Not stated" means the page does not say.
The calculator link pre-fills the driveway at the facility maximum. A facility maximum is the longest unit the campground accepts somewhere, not the length of every site; the site page on Recreation.gov carries the site's own figure where one exists.
Spec sheet
- Park
- Great Sand Dunes National Park and Preserve, CO
- Sites
- not stated
- Elevation
- not stated
- Season
- Open April through October, as stated on the page. National Park Service, Great Sand Dunes: Piñon Flats Campground
- Hookups
- The page states there are no electrical, sewer or water hookups. National Park Service, Great Sand Dunes: Piñon Flats Campground
- Dump station
- A dump station is available in warmer months near the campground, with water hoses. National Park Service, Great Sand Dunes: Piñon Flats Campground
- Loops
- Loop 1; Loop 2; 88 individual sites plus three group sites
- Site types listed
- not stated
- Reservation window
- not stated National Park Service, Great Sand Dunes: Piñon Flats Campground
- Access notes
- The park page states two different figures and both are quoted above: a campsite listing of "RVs up to 25 feet" and a statement that some Loop 1 and Loop 2 sites take RVs or camping trailers up to 35 feet. The 35 ft figure is recorded as the facility maximum because it is the longest the page says the campground accommodates; the 25 ft wording is why most sites will be shorter. The page separately lists 35 feet as the total length of the longest driveways, at sites 8, 39, 47, 60, 76, 77, 80 and 86. Generator hours as stated: 8–10 a.m., 12–2 p.m. and 5–7 p.m. National Park Service, Great Sand Dunes: Piñon Flats Campground
What the limit means for your rig
Piñon Flats Campground publishes one figure, 35 ft, and the source wording is quoted under the diagram. Read it against the unit named in the wording, not against your combined length unless the wording says combined. Why a facility maximum and a site driveway are different numbers.
A 35-foot rig is the size at which figures like this start to bind: Piñon Flats Campground's 35 ft RV figure puts a 35-foot motorhome exactly at it, not under it, while the 35 ft trailer figure puts a 35-foot trailer at the limit exactly. How a 35-foot rig reads against every limit verified on this site, and which of the two columns applies to you.
Use the calculator with the driveway set to 35 ft to see your rig drawn to scale against this limit. A "fits" there means your rig is inside the facility maximum with the 5 ft safety margin, which is our editorial assumption and not a figure from any source — it is editable in the calculator, down to zero. A "fits" does not mean a particular site is available or that every site is that long.
Hookups at Piñon Flats Campground
Official wording: "The page states there are no electrical, sewer or water hookups." There is no electricity, water or sewer at the site, so plan on battery, generator rules as stated above, and the dump station named in the spec sheet.
Other verified campgrounds
- Upper Pines CampgroundYosemite National Park35 ft RV
- North Pines CampgroundYosemite National Park40 ft RV
- Lower Pines CampgroundYosemite National Park40 ft RV
- Mather CampgroundGrand Canyon National Park (South Rim)30 ft RV
- Trailer Village RV CampgroundGrand Canyon National Park (South Rim)50 ft RV
Provenance
| Field | Source | Retrieved |
|---|---|---|
| Length limits | National Park Service, Great Sand Dunes: Piñon Flats Campground (page last updated 2025-09-10) | 2026-10-17 |
| Hookups | National Park Service, Great Sand Dunes: Piñon Flats Campground | 2026-10-17 |
| Season, reservations | National Park Service, Great Sand Dunes: Piñon Flats Campground | 2026-10-17 |
| Raw record | /data/facilities.json (slug pinon-flats-great-sand-dunes) | 2026-10-16 |
No campsite-level records (driveway length per site, per-site hookups, accessibility attributes) are published here yet: they come from the RIDB API, which needs a key this site does not have configured. See methodology.