Campgrounds / Badlands National Park

Sage Creek Campground

Badlands National Park, SD. Every number below is quoted from the official page named beside it, retrieved 2026-10-17. "Not stated" means the page does not say.

Max RV length
18 ft
Max trailer length
18 ft
Max combined length
not stated
Electric at sites
none
Sage Creek Campground: verified length limits drawn to scale on a tape in feetmax RV 18 ft01020ft
Official wording: "Mortor homes, pull behind trailers, and other recreational vehicles greater than 18 feet in length are prohibited. … This limitation does not apply to horse trailers."Source: National Park Service, Badlands: Camping
Draw my rig against 18 ft Official park page

The calculator link pre-fills the driveway at the facility maximum. A facility maximum is the longest unit the campground accepts somewhere, not the length of every site; the site page on Recreation.gov carries the site's own figure where one exists.

Spec sheet

Park
Badlands National Park, SD
Sites
not stated
Elevation
not stated
Season
The park states both of its campgrounds are open year-round. National Park Service, Badlands: Camping
Hookups
The park states no water is available at the campground; potable water is available near the Pinnacles Entrance Station. National Park Service, Badlands: Camping
Dump station
not stated
Loops
not stated
Site types listed
not stated
Reservation window
not stated National Park Service, Badlands: Camping
Access notes
The park states: "Generators and ground fires are not permitted." The length limitation is stated as a prohibition above 18 feet and the park states it does not apply to horse trailers. The source page shows its own last-updated date as April 23, 2019, and spells "Mortor homes" — the wording above is quoted as published, not corrected. National Park Service, Badlands: Camping

What the limit means for your rig

Sage Creek Campground publishes one figure, 18 ft, and the source wording is quoted under the diagram. Read it against the unit named in the wording, not against your combined length unless the wording says combined. Why a facility maximum and a site driveway are different numbers.

A 35-foot rig is the size at which figures like this start to bind: Sage Creek Campground's 18 ft RV figure rules a 35-foot motorhome out before any site-level question arises, while the 18 ft trailer figure rules out a 35-foot trailer here. How a 35-foot rig reads against every limit verified on this site, and which of the two columns applies to you.

Use the calculator with the driveway set to 18 ft to see your rig drawn to scale against this limit. A "fits" there means your rig is inside the facility maximum with the 5 ft safety margin, which is our editorial assumption and not a figure from any source — it is editable in the calculator, down to zero. A "fits" does not mean a particular site is available or that every site is that long.

Hookups at Sage Creek Campground

Official wording: "The park states no water is available at the campground; potable water is available near the Pinnacles Entrance Station." There is no electricity, water or sewer at the site, so plan on battery, generator rules as stated above, and the dump station named in the spec sheet.

Other verified campgrounds

Provenance

FieldSourceRetrieved
Length limitsNational Park Service, Badlands: Camping (page last updated 2019-04-23)2026-10-17
HookupsNational Park Service, Badlands: Camping2026-10-17
Season, reservationsNational Park Service, Badlands: Camping2026-10-17
Raw record/data/facilities.json (slug sage-creek-badlands)2026-10-16

No campsite-level records (driveway length per site, per-site hookups, accessibility attributes) are published here yet: they come from the RIDB API, which needs a key this site does not have configured. See methodology.