Campgrounds / Denali National Park and Preserve

Savage River Campground

Denali National Park and Preserve, AK. Every number below is quoted from the official page named beside it, retrieved 2026-10-17. "Not stated" means the page does not say.

Max RV length
40 ft
Max trailer length
not stated
Max combined length
not stated
Electric at sites
none
Savage River Campground: verified length limits drawn to scale on a tape in feetmax RV 40 ft010203040ft
Official wording: "No campground in Denali can accommodate an RV over 40' long"Source: National Park Service, Denali: Campgrounds
Draw my rig against 40 ft Official park page

The calculator link pre-fills the driveway at the facility maximum. A facility maximum is the longest unit the campground accepts somewhere, not the length of every site; the site page on Recreation.gov carries the site's own figure where one exists.

Spec sheet

Park
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
Sites
not stated
Elevation
not stated
Season
Open in summer only, mid-May to mid-September, as stated by the park. National Park Service, Denali: Campgrounds
Hookups
"No campground in Denali has electrical or water hookups for RVs." National Park Service, Denali: Campgrounds
Dump station
not stated
Loops
not stated
Site types listed
not stated
Reservation window
not stated National Park Service, Denali: Campgrounds
Access notes
The figure recorded here is the park's own statement about every campground in Denali, not a figure published for this campground alone — which is why the wording is quoted rather than paraphrased. The park also states that two vehicles may share a site "as long as their combined length doesn't exceed that site's limit", and it publishes no site limits on this page. The park states the only RV dump station is at Riley Creek. National Park Service, Denali: Campgrounds

What the limit means for your rig

Savage River Campground publishes one figure, 40 ft, and the source wording is quoted under the diagram. Read it against the unit named in the wording, not against your combined length unless the wording says combined. Why a facility maximum and a site driveway are different numbers.

A 35-foot rig is the size at which figures like this start to bind: Savage River Campground's 40 ft RV figure leaves a 35-foot motorhome inside it. How a 35-foot rig reads against every limit verified on this site, and which of the two columns applies to you.

Use the calculator with the driveway set to 40 ft to see your rig drawn to scale against this limit. A "fits" there means your rig is inside the facility maximum with the 5 ft safety margin, which is our editorial assumption and not a figure from any source — it is editable in the calculator, down to zero. A "fits" does not mean a particular site is available or that every site is that long.

Hookups at Savage River Campground

Official wording: ""No campground in Denali has electrical or water hookups for RVs."" There is no electricity, water or sewer at the site, so plan on battery, generator rules as stated above, and the dump station named in the spec sheet.

Other verified campgrounds

Provenance

FieldSourceRetrieved
Length limitsNational Park Service, Denali: Campgrounds (page last updated 2025-06-02)2026-10-17
HookupsNational Park Service, Denali: Campgrounds2026-10-17
Season, reservationsNational Park Service, Denali: Campgrounds2026-10-17
Raw record/data/facilities.json (slug savage-river-denali)2026-10-16

No campsite-level records (driveway length per site, per-site hookups, accessibility attributes) are published here yet: they come from the RIDB API, which needs a key this site does not have configured. See methodology.