Campgrounds / Denali National Park and Preserve

Teklanika River Campground

Denali National Park and Preserve, AK. Every number below is quoted from the official page named beside it, retrieved 2026-10-17. "Not stated" means the page does not say.

Max RV length
40 ft
Max trailer length
40 ft
Max combined length
not stated
Electric at sites
none
Teklanika River Campground: verified length limits drawn to scale on a tape in feetmax RV 40 ft010203040ft
Official wording: "The maximum length of an individual RV or camper-trailer is 40'. … The combined length of a vehicle and trailer combination may exceed 40', [but] each individual vehicle component (e.g., the truck or trailer) may not exceed 40' on its own."Source: National Park Service, Denali: Teklanika River Campground
Draw my rig against 40 ft Official park page

The calculator link pre-fills the driveway at the facility maximum. A facility maximum is the longest unit the campground accepts somewhere, not the length of every site; the site page on Recreation.gov carries the site's own figure where one exists.

Spec sheet

Park
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
Sites
53 National Park Service, Denali: Teklanika River Campground
Elevation
not stated
Season
Open from May 20 to mid-September each year. National Park Service, Denali: Teklanika River Campground
Hookups
"No campground in Denali has electrical or water hookups for RVs." The park states Teklanika usually has potable water, which may be unavailable in spring and early summer. National Park Service, Denali: Teklanika River Campground
Dump station
The only RV water fill and dump station in the park is at Riley Creek Campground. National Park Service, Denali: Teklanika River Campground
Loops
not stated
Site types listed
not stated
Reservation window
The park states a minimum three-night stay for anyone driving in. National Park Service, Denali: Teklanika River Campground
Access notes
This is the only facility verified on this site that publishes a per-unit maximum and then explicitly says the combined length may exceed it: the 40 ft limit governs the RV and the trailer separately, not the two together. Generators may run only 8–10 a.m. and 4–8 p.m. National Park Service, Denali: Teklanika River Campground

What the limit means for your rig

Teklanika River Campground publishes one figure, 40 ft, and the source wording is quoted under the diagram. Read it against the unit named in the wording, not against your combined length unless the wording says combined. Why a facility maximum and a site driveway are different numbers.

A 35-foot rig is the size at which figures like this start to bind: Teklanika River Campground's 40 ft RV figure leaves a 35-foot motorhome inside it, while the 40 ft trailer figure puts a 35-foot trailer at the limit exactly. How a 35-foot rig reads against every limit verified on this site, and which of the two columns applies to you.

Use the calculator with the driveway set to 40 ft to see your rig drawn to scale against this limit. A "fits" there means your rig is inside the facility maximum with the 5 ft safety margin, which is our editorial assumption and not a figure from any source — it is editable in the calculator, down to zero. A "fits" does not mean a particular site is available or that every site is that long.

Hookups at Teklanika River Campground

Official wording: ""No campground in Denali has electrical or water hookups for RVs." The park states Teklanika usually has potable water, which may be unavailable in spring and early summer." There is no electricity, water or sewer at the site, so plan on battery, generator rules as stated above, and the dump station named in the spec sheet.

Other verified campgrounds

Provenance

FieldSourceRetrieved
Length limitsNational Park Service, Denali: Teklanika River Campground (page last updated 2023-10-11)2026-10-17
HookupsNational Park Service, Denali: Teklanika River Campground2026-10-17
Season, reservationsNational Park Service, Denali: Teklanika River Campground2026-10-17
Raw record/data/facilities.json (slug teklanika-river-denali)2026-10-16

No campsite-level records (driveway length per site, per-site hookups, accessibility attributes) are published here yet: they come from the RIDB API, which needs a key this site does not have configured. See methodology.